Remembering My Mother

My mother, Lea Levy, passed away seven months ago —  on March 14, 2012. I flew in for her funeral, with my husband and daughter by my side. The “Unveiling” of her monument took place this past Sunday in Toronto. I wanted to be there, but could not attend due to my current health circumstances. And even though my daughter went, my heart ached for closure. So I called my Dad. Had a good cry. And then he said, “Focus on the good memories you have of her.” Here is one of those memories: A couple days before my mom died, we were chatting on the phone. She asked me about my day, so I told her I had spent the morning with artist Shaney Jo Darden, and she had created a one-of-a-kind plaster sculpture of my torso. The Treasured Chest. My mother listened intently, but the fog of cancer and pain-killers was so thick, in the end she said, “I don’t understand exactly what you did, but whatever it is, I want to do it too. When is it my turn?” And that is who my mother was; that is how my mother lived. Do it all, do it now.

About Robyn Michele Levy

I am an artist, writer, radio broadcaster, performer, mother, breast cancer survivor. I also have Parkinson's disease. My memoir, Most of Me, is available at local and on-line bookstores.
This entry was posted in Art, breast cancer, humor, relationships, travel, women and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Remembering My Mother

  1. Deborah Gibson says:

    Robyn, that was another beautiful touching post. I’d love to see you. Is there a possibility of that?
    Deborah

Leave a comment