Moving Into The Parkinson’s Disease Future

xray house Animation2It’s been 7 years since I was diagnosed with early onset Parkinson’s.  I consider myself fortunate that, most of the time, I still have good balance and mobility. However, I do experience fatigue, dyskinesia and on-off symptoms —  and when this happens my body becomes rigid and robotic. Not the ideal physical state to climb stairs (our house has a spiral staircase) or to do heavy housework (our empty nest is now too big to take care of). Given that Bergen has fully recovered from open heart surgery, we decided to simplify our lives while preparing for our future needs. So we sold our house and bought a one-level condo. And if we survive this intense packing-culling-Craiglisting-donating downsizing stage, we hope to enjoy our new home when we move in at the end of August.

 

About Robyn Michele Levy

I am an artist, writer, radio broadcaster, performer, mother, breast cancer survivor. I also have Parkinson's disease. My memoir, Most of Me, is available at local and on-line bookstores.
This entry was posted in Early Onset Parkinson’s Disease, Parkinson's disease, Young Onset Parkinson’s Disease and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

