Share Your Happy Birthday Cake Stories with Me!

Cake 2 Animation3When I was a kid, birthday cakes could be dangerous. Some mothers would fold pennies and nickels into the batter. “For good luck,” they’d say, popping it into the oven. I believed the good luck part. Especially if the mother was married to a dentist and one of us kids cracked a tooth biting down on the Queen’s crown or the Beaver’s tail. But that didn’t happen very often. Most of us would dig safely though our slices of birthday cake, hunt down those coins and go home with chocolate smeared faces and sticky fingers — clutching small windfalls to stash in our piggy banks.

About Robyn Michele Levy

I am an artist, writer, radio broadcaster, performer, mother, breast cancer survivor. I also have Parkinson's disease. My memoir, Most of Me, is available at local and on-line bookstores.
This entry was posted in humor and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Share Your Happy Birthday Cake Stories with Me!

  1. My birthday was sometimes on passover and my mother would make a sponge cake with strawberries and cream…then my mother-in-law remembered how my mother did that and she did the same thing, after my mother died.

  2. daniela elza says:

    In Bulgaria this tradition is practiced on the Eve of the New Year. They would bake a flat bread or make banitza with a coin in it. My mom puts now all sorts of things/fortunes in to symbolize different aspects of life like love, wealth, education, etc. to make it more fun with more stuff to be found. I do not think anyone has broken a tooth yet. I did not know about doing it with birthday cakes. 🙂

  3. Reblogged this on allaboutmanners and commented:
    Nice!

  4. Mr. Wapojif says:

    I can’t really remember anything other than stuffing the cake into my face as quickly as possible. I like cake.

Leave a Reply

