Today’s Pink Stroke of Genius: Olivia Newton-John Launches Australian Cancer Center Named in Her Honour

Part of my brain is stuck in the year 1978.  I was fourteen. I was hormonal. And I was obsessed with the movie “Grease!” I adored Olivia Newton-John — in my eyes she was wholesome, pretty, talented, and perfect. Fourteen years later, when she was diagnosed with breast cancer, I remember how shocked and sad I felt. Over the years, I’ve watched her career, philanthropy and activism blossom. Among many of her endeavors, she launched the Liv Aid ®, a breast self-examination aid that assists women to exercise breast self-exams correctly. And now, after ten years of fundraising to “make her dream come true,”  the multi-million dollar Olivia Newton-John Cancer and Wellness Center opened  this week at the Austin Hospital in Melbourne. Thank you Olivia Newton-John!

About Robyn Michele Levy

I am an artist, writer, radio broadcaster, performer, mother, breast cancer survivor. I also have Parkinson's disease. My memoir, Most of Me, is available at local and on-line bookstores.
This entry was posted in breast cancer, research, women and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

