Diseases 101

Ever since kindergarten, I have always been a conscientious student. Eager to learn. Self-disciplined. Organized. Theses traits come in handy, especially now that I’m doing a double major in Parkinson’s and breast cancer. Still, sometimes the learning curve is quite steep. Even treacherous.

I’m still recovering from the shock of today’s lesson: the repercussions of going public with my declining health. It happened early this morning while listening to myself on CBC radio: my disembodied voice talking about my art show and my diseases. Suddenly, I heard my sadness. I heard my pain. I heard my reality.

I wonder if other people heard this too?

About Robyn Michele Levy

I am an artist, writer, radio broadcaster, performer, mother, breast cancer survivor. I also have Parkinson's disease. My memoir, Most of Me, is available at local and on-line bookstores.
This entry was posted in Art, breast cancer, health, Parkinson's disease and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Diseases 101

  1. Alison says:

    I heard you.

    I wondered at your verbal accuity, your way with words around such tricky subject matter. I heard more of your art than I did of your suffering, but I wonder if maybe your art is where your suffering lives? Maybe that’s why you heard so much more of the hard than some of the rest of us might have.

    Journey on. I was encouraged by the story of you.

  2. thanks for your comments Alison. It is a strange journey I am on…

Leave a Reply

