My Dog Nellie

The other day, I heard someone say, “You get the dog you need, not the dog you want.” Considering I never wanted a dog in the first place, I must have needed Nellie.

She is an old English Yorkshire terrier with a terrifying bark and plenty of other talents. Unlike those pesky pooches that fetch your slippers or detect your tumors before you do, my dog does impersonations.

She can moo like a cow when she whines. She can snore like my husband when she sleeps. But best of all, she can imitate Harrison Ford. I never know when she will do this. But once in a while, when her fur is all gruffy, she gets this twinkle in her eye and kooky half-smile on her face. And I think, if only she had a brown Stetson fedora, she’d look just like Indiana Jones.

This always makes me laugh – something I need to do more often.

About Robyn Michele Levy

I am an artist, writer, radio broadcaster, performer, mother, breast cancer survivor. I also have Parkinson's disease. My memoir, Most of Me, is available at local and on-line bookstores.
This entry was posted in breast cancer, dogs, humor and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to My Dog Nellie

  1. CuppySkully says:

    I think dog owners may think that they wanted a dog, but at the end of the day we need them more than we want them. There’s something off about living without a dog.

Leave a Reply

