Robyn Michele Levy Discovers Her “Libby Doe” While Spring Cleaning

Look who I found hiding in my studio yesterday!
My old friend, Libby Doe — who appears in Most of Me!
I also found a stash of  I Ain’t No Shave Slave greeting cards
featuring her on the front and the poem on the back.
Cards are blank inside so you can write your own hairy message…
Buy
them in packs of twelve for just $10.00.

I Ain’t No Shave Slave

I ain’t no shave slave
no beauty queen
bikini waxes are not my scene
I ain’t no shave slave
no centrefold
for every hair on this bod
there’s a story to be told

I ain’t no shave slave
no depilatory dream
electrolysis just makes me scream
I ain’t no shave slave
no jolen junkie
I trashed the tweezers
I’m furry and funky

I ain’t no shave slave
no Vogue vixen
it ain’t ingrown hairs that I’m itchin’
I ain’t no shave slave
no Barbie doll
if you want me, darling
 you’ve got to take it all! 

© Robyn Michele Levy 1993

About Robyn Michele Levy

I am an artist, writer, radio broadcaster, performer, mother, breast cancer survivor. I also have Parkinson's disease. My memoir, Most of Me, is available at local and on-line bookstores.
This entry was posted in Art, humor, shopping and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Robyn Michele Levy Discovers Her “Libby Doe” While Spring Cleaning

  1. Cindy says:

    Haha ha. too funny. Was just looking at my hairy legs yesterday and thinking that it is time to get the razor out. Maybe I won’t.

  2. Teresa Pujol says:

    I still have the t-shirt!

Leave a Reply

